Detangling – not such a chore anymore

I have finally figured out why I like using Garnier Fructis conditioners to detangle my hair prior to washing. I would say what my hair type is but I don’t know for sure, but the one thing I do know for sure is that the middle is very coily. Now onto why detangling is no longer a chore for me. Recently I saw on someone’s youtube channel that they were spritzing their hair with warm water and then adding conditioner to detangle prior to shampooing or co-washing so I decided to try it, and I immediately became a fan of the process. Of course I had to mess with a good thing by being curious and trying other methods, but I guess being curious helps you to discover, improve etc. So anyway, I’m happy to say that I’ve discovered why Garnier Fructis conditioners work wonders for detangling my hair, and that I plan to stick with using this product for a long time to come. The key ingredient you ask, behentrimonium chloride, which is the fourth ingredient on the list. After researching a bunch of different hair care blog sites for women who are either transitioning from relaxers to natural, or who are already natural I have to thank Curly Nikki who found this information on NaturallyCurly.com and for posting it on her site. Even though her posts talks about behentrimonium methosulfate, I believe both ingredients work exactly the same. I’m not sure about the toxicity level of BC and will need to do further research, but for not it’s working quite fine and will continue with it until I’ve run out. The other option that I have read about is Kinky Curly’s Knot Today which uses BM instead of BC.

THANK YOU!

Leave a Reply

