10 months post…

and I am definitely seeing progress. I am at a point now where I am no longer eager to try every product that someone talks about on YouTube or that I read about on someone’s blog.

When I started transitioning I was paying too much attention to the growth of my hair. Now that I am seeing progress I’m taking a few steps back to really focus on the health of my hair and ensuring I’m doing whatever it takes to preserve the structure of my hair. I now detangle my hair dry with limited use of product, with the exception of using something to help deal with knots. I section my hair in 8 – 10 braids and wash with diluted shampoo. I smooth conditioner on my hair and detangle using my fingers first followed by my Denman brush. The next step is to deep condition with a moisturizing conditioner using wet heat (steam) followed by a cold rinse. I use a leave-in conditioner followed by a moisturizer and a sealant. This routine has been working very well for me and I plan to stick with it for some time.

Also, I have been limiting the use of protein as I am starting to realize that most mainstream products contain either animal or plant protein. I now only use protein once every 6 – 8 weeks (using dry heat), and I always clarify prior to applying.

Products being used are:

Elasta QP conditioning shampoo

Elasta QP DPR-11 Deep penetrating conditioner (sometimes mixed with black castor oil or Virgin Olive Oil) or  Curl Junkie Curl Rehab Moisturizing Hair Treatment

Darcy’s Botanicals Daily Leave-in Conditioner

Afroveda’s Totally Twisted Ginger Almond Butter – not sure what I’ll replace this with due to the recent price hike.

Omega Nutrition Virgin Coconut Oil

For protein treatment

Organic Root Stimulator’s Hair Mayo

 

Folliclephile

🙂

Leave a Reply

