Twists or braids…keeping scalp clean

When wearing a protective style such as braids or twists it is important to keep your scalp free of build-up. I find that I’m unable to cleanse my scalp frequently because I do not want my hairstyle looking a hot mess, especially if I’ve only been wearing it for four weeks. So, even though I do not wash my hair weekly, I do take the time to clean my scalp between shampoos by using witch hazel. It is said that witch hazel is primarily used on sores, bruises and swelling, but I also find it works great as a facial toner and for removing build-up on my scalp caused by shampoos and conditioners.

Typically, I take a Q-tip and apply witch hazel directly to my scalp – I do not rinse. You can also mix 1 part witch hazel to two parts water in a spray bottle and apply to scalp. Leave for 10 – 15 minutes prior to rinsing.

Leave a Reply

